About us

The San Antonio Mexico Friendship Council is a non-profit organization founded in 1996 by the then Consul General of Mexico in San Antonio, Carlos Sada, and various prominent community leaders to strengthen and promote the shared cultural ties between the citizens of San Antonio and Mexico.

The organization supports a myriad of cultural and civic activities along with the Mexican Consulate and the Mexican Cultural Institute in San Antonio. SAMFCO also provides students of Mexican origin attending colleges and universities in the San Antonio area with scholarships to further their education. SAMFCO’s board is comprised by San Antonio civic, governmental, cultural, educational and business leaders from both the United States and Mexico. Traditionally, the Consul General of Mexico serves as Honorary Chairman and the current President of the Council is Juan Antonio Flores, Executive Vice President for Governmental Affairs of Port San Antonio.

Our Board


Min. Sergio Zapata Lozano


Director of the Mexican Cultural Institute

Juan Antonio Flores


Executive Vice President for Government Affairs of Port San Antonio.

Shahrzad Dowlatshahi


Chief Diplomacy and Protocol Officer, Head of International Relations City of San Antonio


Yvette Gonzalez


First Vice President International Department International Bank of Commerce

Laura Cortez


Mi Tierra Café y Panadería

Frances Ortiz Schultschik


President, Schultschik Marketing Group



Juan Carlos Almanza, Managing Parner Almanza CPA Firm
Jeff Arndt, President and CEO Via Metropolitan Transit
Armen Babajanian, Executive Director World Affairs Council of San Antonio
Alejandra Bueno, Interim Executive Director International Programs Alamo Colleges
Samuel Cantu, Director of Sales Interjet
Jorge Canavti, President J. Canavati& Co, LLC
Leroy Cavazos Reyna, Senior Manager of Public Affairs & Communications Coca Cola Southwest Beverages
Graciela Cigarroa, General Councel Centromed
Louis Escareño, General Councel
Elizabeth Fauerso, Chief Marketing Officer The Pearl
Marcos Fragoso, Vice President for International Affairs University of the Incarnate Word
Aracely García Granados, Executive Director Mexicans and Americans Thinking Together
Leo Gomez, President & CEO Brooks City Base
Alex Hinojosa, Managing Director North American Development Bank
Jennifer L. Jenkins, Market Manager Aeromexico-Delta
Robert McKinley, Vice Chancellor Economic and Workforce Development Alamo Colleges
Lisa Montoya, Vice Provost for International Initiatives and Senior International Officer UTSA
Karlo Morgado, Group Sales Manager Private Banking International
Ana Celia Partida, Community Leader
Ezequiel Peña, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs Our Lady of the Lake University
Rosa Ramirez, Executive Director of Credit Valero Companies
Jose Reyes Jr., Premium Partnerships Manager Spurs Sports and Entertainment
Álvaro Roa Santa María, Vice President and General Manager of Latin America Rackspace
Robert Shemwell, Principal Overland Partners Architects
Martha Tijerina, Community Leader
Tony Treviño, General Councel Lewis Energy Group
Marisol Weymouth, Interim Vice President Office of Enterprise Business Planning and Execution Excellence CPS Energy